Posted in 2017, poetry, Writing

Awaiting the Sunrise

I am lying awake awaiting the sunrise

in the warmth beneath my blankets

and my head snug on my pillow.

I stare up at the ceiling, a million

thoughts race through my mind

as my body fills with fear.

I reach upwards but there is no one

awake for my hand to grab so I

clasp only cold air.

Slowly I calm down until I just want

to fall asleep once more but now its too late.

The setting moon fills my room with light

as I drape my arm across my eyes.

The leave of the old tree outside rustle loudly

in the cold morning breeze.

Outside everything is calm,

just as it should be.

Leave a Reply

