Posted in 2017, Update Post

My Blog Plans for May to August

I have decided to try something new with Ruminated Scrawlings. I am going to have a rough schedule and instead of having it go until I am bored with it I am going to have it only from May to August. This will allow me to experiment more with what works and what doesn’t work on my blog, and once September 1st comes around I should have a good understanding of how to do what I envision.

Another thing I am planning on using more is the scheduling feature of WordPress. I need to schedule posts because if I don’t there will be 6 weeks over the summer where nothing will be posted because I will not be able to access a computer. Having a schedule means that I can (obviously) schedule posts and that is a good thing to be able to do when you’re a student.

Instead of writing out my schedule in a schedule-like fashion, I will be going over the types of posts I hope to be able to write. This is not final and I will be happy if anyone has any advice on how to do this.

The posts I’ll write include:


Anime Reviews

I will still be writing anime reviews despite the fact that I’m trying to move away from having an anime heavy blog and towards having a writing heavy blog. I enjoy writing these reviews and I have a lot of these reviews to write. If you look at my Crunchyroll queue the finished series which I have yet to remove because I need to grab screenshots from them take up about half of it, series that will be finished this season take up almost a quarter, and already finished series that I have yet to complete myself take up the other quarter.

The quantity of anime reviews I need to write is so large that if I were to only write 1 of these posts per week I would have enough to last me past next Christmas. This is why I have decided that I should write a total of 2 anime reviews per week. I think they will be posted on Tuesdays and Fridays, but this is able to change if I so decide.


Amateur Writing Tips

This is one of the type of posts I have come up with while working on the #AtoZChallenge. Basically I will be posting a writing tip each week. This will help my own writing more than anything because I will need to start thinking about things to write, and I think that’s okay. If it ends up helping anyone else even better. There will only be 1 per week.


World Building Tips

I want to go through my own created world and look at the really important things to think about, both the big and the small. These tips will include everything from the government of the world, to different ethnicities, and even to small things like idioms and how people talk about different things in this world. I will also be going over how to possibly show off these aspects of your world in your writing.


World Building Update

One of my favourite posts to write back in the past of December 2016 were my world building updates. I got to write about my world and about how it had developed over the past week. Now instead of writing everything that I changed or decided upon over the last week I will be writing a post going over how the world building tip of the week relates to my own world. This will hopefully help me to actually make some progress. There will only be one of these per week.


Symbols

One thing I’ve been interested in for a while is the symbolic meanings behind certain objects, colours, body positions, animals, and other things that can be found in poetry, books, and other forms of fiction and/or art. I was inspired to do something like this because of the fact that I’m participating in #AtoZChallenge right now. There will be one of these posts per week.


Movie Reviews

These posts will be like my anime reviews except for movies and with more of a focus on movies from the West. I will mainly be reviewing movies that can be found on Canadian Netflix because that’s what I have available to me right now. I will write one of these posts per week.


Book Reviews

These will be reviews of books. Since it takes me longer to read a book than it takes me to watch a movie or a twelve episode anime series I have decided to only write one of these per month. I will do it in the same way as I would if I ran a book club. I will announce the book I’ll be reviewing at the beginning of the month and then review it at the end of the month. I may also occasionally review a couple extra books per month if I have the time.


Fiction Talk

In these posts I will write about different types of fiction. They could be about an interesting character, setting, or symbol, a rumour, or about an interesting way that something was done. I have already written and posted two of these posts. This will allow me to write spoilery posts. I can write however many of these, or however little each week. It all depends on if I have something to write about.


Discussion Blog Posts

There will be one of these posts per week. I will write something that is unrelated to any of the other topics I’ll be writing about in other posts.


Flash Fiction

I want to try writing flash fiction. I will hopefully write one of these posts per week.


Poetry

Since I have started to write poetry again I want to post some on my blog. I will post two poems per week here, and I will submit one poem to another site which I will decide upon at a later date.


Simple Short Comics

I don’t know how I would do this exactly, but I was thinking of posting a small one-shot comic per week. These comics will be hand drawn, have a very simplistic art style with stickmen, and be drawn on small pieces of paper the size of your average post it note.


Enhancements to Other Posts

This isn’t exactly a type of post, but a way that I could add to the quality of my posts. I want to make banners for each broad type of post (i.e. writing, anime, movie, book, discussion, etc.) as well as add images to more of my posts. I have already been doing this with my anime reviews, so why not do it with most of my other posts.


Those are my ideas. If you have any questions relating to any of the above post forms feel free to ask them in the comments below. As I said before I would appreciate any advice and feedback.

I will post my #AtoZChallenge post for today after my laptop has finished updating.

4 thoughts on “My Blog Plans for May to August

Leave a Reply

