Posted in 2016, Awards

Blogger Recognition Award

Thank you to Yahari Bento for nominating me for The Blogger Recognition Award. I am both honoured and excited to finally get to write a post for a blogging award. Once again thank you so much.

Rules

  1. Display Award
  2. Thank the person who gave you this award (and include a link to her/his blog).
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  5. Nominate 15 bloggers

How Ruminated Scrawlings began

The beginning of my “blogging career” began back when I was in Grade 11 and I read Graceling by Kristin Cashore. When reading an interview that was located at the end of the book I discovered that she had a blog and you could follow the development of her novels through this blog. At the time I was starting to discover how much I enjoyed writing and how I wanted to become a writer (as well as be an archaeologist). I found the very existence Kristin Cashore’s blog to be very inspirational and I wanted to start a blog so that I could write about my writing.

Another thing that made me want to start a blog was the fact that there were so many things (and still are) that I was unable to talk to anyone about at school, at sea cadets, or with the youth of my church. I am a naturally quiet person and that natural quietness was made greater due to several things that happened in late elementary school and high school. I needed a way to express myself and if that meant talking silently into a massive empty room than so be it.

In about 2013 I started my first blog on Blogger. I called it Writing and More because I wanted to not only write about writing but also about my life and other things I wanted to write about. This blog ended up failing since I had no clue what I was doing. I started my second blog after deleting my old one and used the same name. It failed once again because I had learned nothing from the failure of my first blog.

So after these two failures I decided to try once more. I had not yet given up because I felt that it was important for me to have a blog both for personal and future writing career reasons. This was going to be my last try. I ditched the name Writing and More, ditched the Blogger platform, and then went to choose a new name for a blog on WordPress.

I wanted the new name to mean something. I wanted it to be unique. This is why I went to an online thesaurus and looked up synonyms for different words based on the theme of my blog. I decided that the theme would be based on well-thought out writing based on things I have watched, read, observed, or written. According to Dictionary.com Ruminated means to meditate on; to ponder. Scrawl can be something that has been scrawled such as a note or a letter. Looking back I guess Scrawlings wasn’t the best word to use in my title but at least it makes it unique. No one else has used this title other than me.

I now had a blog. This blog was started in summer 2014. I wrote about a post per week abut things that were going on in my life such as my summer job. I was enjoying myself but then I realized that I was neglecting the theme of my blog by not writing about my writing or things I have watched or read. To make matters worse I went to University for the first time that September and my blogging slowed to a crawl. I wrote a post about once a month. The problem was that though I had so many things that I could have been writing about it never crossed my mind as I was having those ideas to actually blog about them. I am also not a very easily motivated person.

I went back to my blog in July of 2016 and started reviving it. It was mostly dead at this point. I could have started from scratch once again but I had promised myself that this blog would be my last. I started by writing a post a day. First a had a theme for each day of the week then I decided that that was stupid and I got rid of that after about a week. In August I decided to go one step further and write two posts per day. I succeeded. Then I went back to University where I stopped blogging for a month which has forced me to regrow my blog once again. Though this time I didn’t have to start from the bottom.

Now I am brainstorming ways to make my blog better and more diverse. This is the story of how Ruminated Scrawlings was started. I didn’t think that it would be this long. I was thinking earlier about how this would only be a couple of paragraphs long. I guess I surprise even myself. Also some things in this story are things that I’ve never discussed with anyone.

Advice for new bloggers

Don’t give up

If you have read my story above one thing should be clear to you. I failed a lot in blogging yet I never gave up. I went back to the ashes of my blog and either transformed them into an entirely new blog or used them to resurrect the old blog. Your views may have stopped completely or you never had many views at all, but you will never know if your blog will grow unless you continue writing things and posting them onto your blog. If you don’t know what to write look at the theme of your blog and brainstorm a few ideas. Form a schedule and write posts ahead of time so that you won’t have any days where you don’t have a post. It doesn’t matter if what you write is awful garbage, if you don’t give up not only will your writing improve but your blog will also grow.

 

Never write posts if you are starving, exhausted, dehydrated, extremely stressed or anxious, or when you are sick

The above advice is basically my golden rule when writing anything. Of course there are times when I need to break this rule because of school. If you notice that you don’t have a post being published when you need a post to be published don’t force yourself to write a random post if your mind is not within 50% of its peak. Not only will your posts be of poor quality if you break this rule, you will also be adding unneeded stress to your day. Remember your well-being, school, and your social life should be above your blog in terms of importance unless blogging is literally your day job.

Honourable Nominees

  1. Moshfish reviews
  2. New Seasonal Anime and Reviews
  3. Vega Tuesday
  4. Moomba Manor
  5. 100 Word Anime
  6. Morning Reads
  7. Unsolicited Advice
  8. In the Cubbyhole
  9. The Reviewers Corner
  10. Keith Garrett Poetry
  11. Writings by Ender
  12. Daily Anime Art
  13. Anime Girls NYC
  14. Cloe Michaels Reads
  15. Pop Culture Uncovered

 

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

