Posted in 2016, Ruminated Scrawling, Writing

Weekly Discussion Post – December 15, 2016 – Building a World from Nothing

I have been world building a little lately. This is for the world that my NaNoWriMo 2016 novel is set in. After finishing the first draft I realized that the world was still pretty incomplete as there were a lot of things I didn’t know. I am even going beyond what is actually needed for the story to work. Now I need to ask myself how far until the world is complete.

What exactly makes a fictional world complete? Is it the fact that all of the characters have their own lives and histories? That the places are not located in static points of time where they never change? Is it the customs of the people? Is it that all the landmasses that expanse the planet have been mapped out and designed?

To be honest I don’t think my world will ever be complete because for my world building I am focusing on a specific year. As time passes in the world I have created everything will slowly change until all of the world building I have already completed is no longer useful for the story. I guess that’s what you get when you build a world from nothing, a vast space that will be forever incomplete.

Leave a Reply

