Posted in 2016, NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo 2016, Writing

NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 14

I am still writing my novel, only now I am doing this slower than I would like. I have hit a slump. I feel uninspired to write right now. All of my inspiration is going into other stories that will end up being no more than 2,000 words each. I can’t even bring myself to write those stories and add them to my wordcount because it doesn’t feel right to me. I have created two new characters that I had hoped would help me along. They did slightly but only slightly. I also couldn’t bring myself to write here on my blog.

I guess it is common for writer’s to have periods of time where they feel completely unmotivated to do anything. It’s not the end of the world. The only problem is that now there is no way I’m going to be able to reach my stretch goal of 100,000 words. That doesn’t matter for my first draft. I think what I’ll do is write the rest of the novel using the pace I normally use. By this I mean the type of pacing you would see in a short story. Quick enough to be read quickly but slow enough that it doesn’t seem too fast. In a novel it should be slower and more detail should be written into the story.

I hope that me writing this post will get me out of this slump. I also wrote a post yesterday that I hope helped. I added the words from that post to my wordcount because it was quite long. I just surrounded those unrelated words with <<non>> to tell future me that those words do not belong. I will write as much as I can tomorrow and hope for the best.

If you want to see me current wordcount go here.

Leave a Reply

