Posted in 2016, NaNoWriMo 2016

A Quick Description of National Novel Writing Month

National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo is an event that occurs every November where writers from all over the world try to write an entire novel within 30 days. If a writer reaches at least 50,000 words they win NaNoWriMo. The only thing that limits how many people win is the amount of people who actually participate in the event.

NaNoWriMo is run by a nonprofit organization with the same name. This organization aims to give voice to writers. They run a Young Writer’s program which provides writing kits and tools to classrooms all over the world so that young writers get the support they need. There is also a Come Write In program which provides free resources to libraries, community centers, and local bookstores so that writing havens can be built all over the place. As this is a nonprofit organization they do ask for donations so that they can run and provide the things I listed above.

I found some interesting statistics on their website which is at www.NaNoWriMo.org. In 2015 431, 626 people participated in NaNoWriMo. Out of those 80,137 were students and educators. Over 250 NaNoWriMo novels have been professionally published such as The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, every book from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, and Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Also I have been participating for the past two years and I have won both times.

I started NaNoWriMo in 2014 after I noticed that a bunch of writers were participating in it from DeviantArt. I decided to participate for the hell of it. I ended up winning but though I outlined a tiny bit my novel was awful. I know I could go back and revise it but that novel was based in the same world as this years project and it has already changed so much that the original story wouldn’t work any more.

Last year I tried writing a personal novel as a way of meditation. That novel didn’t turn out either though I did win. I condensed that novel into a short story that is less than 1,000 words. I am a fantasy writer. That novel was not fantasy so I had a few issues with it including not doing the research that I would avoid by writing a novel in a different world. I guess I got some practice out of it.

This year I am writing a fantasy novel and this time I’m not doing it for fun or as a way to meditate. This time I’m writing this novel with the intention of publishing it. I can’t wait until November 1st so that I can write the first 3,000 words of my novel. Also I am aiming for 100,000 words by the end of November. I hope I make it.

If you want to follow my progress with NaNoWriMo go to this link:

Lies Over Secret Truths – Pieplate novel stats 2016

Once November comes around you will find a graph which gives you my current word count as soon as I update it which I will do regularly. The graph will show you the change in words from day to day and it will show you if I reached the goal of 1,667 words per day that NaNoWriMo has in order for you to reach 50,000 words.

Also I will be writing a post every single day where I will state my wordcount, my goal for the day, and any interesting things that happen as I write the novel. Because of this November on my blog will consist of NaNoWriMo update posts and episode reviews.

See you then for my NaNoWriMo posts.

Leave a Reply

