Posted in 2016, NaNoWriMo 2016, Writing

NaNoWriMo 2016 Update – ConLang

I decided earlier that it would be a good idea for me to create a language from scratch for my novel. This is because of a random passage that came through my head. It was what one of my characters said and it only makes sense if the language she was speaking wasn’t English.

That is one of the reasons why I decided to spontaneously get into ConLang or constructing a language. The other reason is that I am interested in linguistics and how a language can influence the way the speaker sees the world. ConLang seems to have a large community. I don’t think that I’ll become a part of that community. I am not just doing this for fun I’m also doing it for my book.

So far I have been choosing phonemes that will be used in my language. I literally just googled the most common sounds in languages and used most of them. I also purposely left a few sounds out so that my language can be more unique. Since my language is loosely based off of Welsh I am putting a lot of “y’s” and “w’s” into the words that will make it up. I am far from finishing my language which for the time being I will call Ingrewian. This just adds something also I have to do for the planning phase of my novel.

Leave a Reply

