Posted in 2016, Writing

Visions by Kelley Armstrong book review

When I was in about grade 7 or 8 I read the Darkest Powers trilogy which is a series of books by Kelley Armstrong. I loved them a lot. Some of my friends ended up reading it to. Me and one of my friends suggested that we try writing a novel all together where a bunch of different mythical, humanoid creatures met each other at a high school. It was inspired by this series. We never got far with the novel which is disappointing to me because I would have found it quite fun.

Last summer I picked up a book named Omens which is written by the same author. It is a more adult novel and again I loved it. The characters were all interesting. The setting was interesting. I loved how very little about Olivia’s abilities was known at the end of the book and how she and Gabriel solved a mystery that was based off of MKUltra which made it very interesting. I also liked how much story was in this novel without the pacing being too fast.

I liked that novel so much that I put the next book in that series on hold, Visions. A couple of weeks ago I got the chance to read it and I was not disappointed. The characters were still interesting. The plot was just as filled with information without being an info drop. Not only that this novel added to the supernatural aspect which was merely hinted at in Omens.

I would recommend that you read Visions or any of Kelley Armstrong’s books for that matter. They are amazing and I will be looking for the next book in the series to read as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

