Posted in 2014, poetry, Writing

Frozen Rain

It rained last night

In the winter’s cold,

And now the ground is ice.

I walk outside,

Slip and fall,

All to get to

Where I need to be.

 

It’s hard to walk

On the solid ice.

A smooth sheet

Of frozen water

Impedes me, but

I do the best I can

To walk carefully,

And make sure I don’t fall.

 

The sidewalks are

Now made of ice.

We will all slip and fall,

No doubt about it,

But when the salt

Is sprinkled on the ground

The ice melts

Leaving water

And we can walk

Safely again.

 

Leave a Reply

