Posted in 2016, Update Post

All That is Solid Melts Into Air

So I don’t really feel like reviewing anything today so I guess I’ll just write about the book I am currently reading. The book is All That is Solid Melts Into Air by Darragh McKeon. It is about a few characters who live in the Soviet Union during the Chernobyl disaster in 1986. This is one of those books that you read so that you can learn about what happened and see different perspectives of the events, though the perspectives of each of the main characters is based around the horrors that they had to face and how so much damage could have been prevented.

Near the beginning a similar disaster is referenced. This one happened in the USA but as you can see it is not remembered anywhere as clearly as Chernobyl. This is because they had precautions in place to make sure a meltdown didn’t result in destruction or the taint of everything nearby. A character mentions how he tried to get similar precautions in place in the Soviet power plants but was advised not to because talking about any mistake in the Soviet Union could result in him getting arrested for antiSoviet sentiment. There are multiple parts of the book where characters try to avoid being arrested for that reason after they speak out about how they are treated badly.

I am not yet done the book. I may write another post about it after I’m done. I currently have about 20% left. I can’t wait till I get to the ending to see what happens with the characters.

Leave a Reply

