Posted in 2016, Uncategorized, Writing

I Finished American Gods

Yesterday I got to the end of American Gods. What I liked most about the book is the fact that the story is more like a classical monomyth than a modern story. There are gods from everywhere for literally everything. Shadow as a protagonist grows as the story progresses in a way where at first he is a person who doubts the existence of all these amazing things that are suddenly happening around him and at the end he is the mythic hero who foils the plan of the antagonist and learns the truth of who he is.

Wednesday is a very interesting character. So is Low Key. They both have have a part in bringing Shadow into this new world that he never knew existed though with Low Key you don’t really see that until the end. The foreshadowing is so subtle but if you reread the novel you will see the many hints that are dropped about who some of these characters are. If you look hard enough you can see the actual intentions of some characters hidden behind their masks of deception.

Not all of the gods were named but if you read some of the character descriptions in a scene near the climax and know world mythology well enough you can know who or what is being described. I noticed kitsune, several of the shinto gods, and some others who were named. The only reason why I didn’t notice any others was because I don’t know enough world mythology.

I noticed while I was reading this book that there is going to be a television show adaptation made by Starz based on it. I am both excited and scared to see what they are going to do with the story and characters. I don’t think that some of the descriptions and events in the book will translate well into a show. There will need to be some artistic liberties made. I can’t wait to see how they represent some of the more spiritual aspects of the book or if they will even bother.

The next book that I am going to read is The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. I hope I enjoy it as much as I did this last book. By the way I don’t count this as a book review. You can if you want, but to me this is more of me expressing how impressed I am by this book and less about any flaws that I may have noticed or how well paced the story was or whatever. My first book review will be next month.

Leave a Reply

