Posted in 2016, poetry, Uncategorized

Three Deer

Three deer cross my path

as I walk at the edge of the woods.

Their gazes pass over me one by one

without a single wince in reaction

to my presence near the woods.

The final one stops;

its eyes lock onto mine.

It doesn’t quiver in fear

nor does it make a sound.

It just stands there staring

at the person who could kill it.

Though it is scared I can see bravery

in its large beautiful eyes.

It will not run, it waits for my move.

I do move, and the other two

who have been walking away

from their frightened friend

come to the realization

that I had been there all along.

The three deer run away at once

before I can make another movement.

Leave a Reply

