Posted in 2016, Writing

Common Advice for New Writers

Though I have been writing for the past several years I still see myself as a new writer. I have actually only been trying to improve greatly for the past two years. I still see many things that I can improve on. I know that I can get better if I practice writing as much as I can. One of the most common pieces of advice that I hear more experienced writers give new writers is that they need to write a little bit everyday.

One of the issues I have with this is that there is no way that I could write everyday. I am a student and I have to work on assignments, study, and attend classes. I can’t work on my projects as often as I would like to. Also there are days that I have mostly free where I can’t bring myself to write anything at all. I am either too tired from the night before or I’m not feeling the greatest.

I try to not write when I am past a certain level of exhaustion because I find that when I write when I am too tired I write messed up things. I either send the story in a bad direction or I do something that will only write me into a corner. Once I did a writing prompt where I had to rewrite the ending to a video game. I chose Majora’s Mask and I ended up killing literally every single character in the game by making it so that as soon as the mask was defeated it released an even greater evil i the world.

In a similar way I wrote myself into the corner by writing a scene during NaNoWriMo 2015 where several characters weren’t going to be where they were needed in the next few scenes. I had to skip so much of the plot just to smooth out these corners enough to get around them.

So yeah, writing everyday is probably not the best idea. The advice should be that new writer’s should write as much as they can even if that is only once a week. Writing skills tend not to grow rusty too fast so you don’t need to worry about that. Also I think that writer’s should improve at their own pace.

Leave a Reply

