Posted in 2015, NaNoWriMo, Ruminated Scrawling, The Fatal Deception, Update Post, Writing

The Fatal Deception- The Novel I Wrote to Win NaNoWriMo 2015

Last Thursday I completed the first draft of my novel The Fatal Deception. I spent a month writing it from start to almost finish. I didn’t quite finish it because I’m still not sure where it is meant to end though I have a few ideas. I wrote scenes that were difficult for me to process even as a writer, but they had to come out. The initial idea that sparked me wanting to write this novel was based on a few personal events that happened in my life and it has grown into a story about a girl who goes through what has to be the most difficult time of her life.

When I finished writing and I reached 50,000 words I didn’t feel like I accomplished a whole lot. All I could see were flaws. Of course this is the same as last years novel The First Dragon, however with The First Dragon I felt like I accomplished something. It was my first NaNo and I just wanted to know if I could do it or not. This time I knew that I could write that many words in less than a month so it was less of a surprise when I reached the part where I decided to stop writing.

My first draft is just over 50,000 words, way less than the 100,000 I was aiming for. I believe that I made a few errors as I was writing it such as not developing characters enough or skimming over important events. I believe that if I continue writing and end up rewriting the whole novel for my second draft I could reach or even surpass my original goal of 100,000 words.

So I will wait a while before I start on the next draft. I need to do some more thinking on the subject of the story and the plot. I want to know the characters better before I start it. I hope that it will one day be published. Until I start on the next draft I will first finish this semester then I will start working on other smaller projects. I have a few ideas that I need to turn into stories, especiously ideas that I have held in my brain for the entire month. I need to write these stories as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

