Posted in 2015, NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo 2015, Writing

I am Participating in NaNoWriMo 2015

This year I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo. This will be my second time participating, and hopefully also my second time winning. I won last year with a novel I titled The Last Dragon, but it was a total mess and I didn’t even bother revising it because of that. There were a few chapters where I completely forgot about a semi-important character, once where the characters walked into a forest with it being one season and back out with it being another, and I made the main character do some messed up things. This year I hope to make sure that nothing like that happens by outlining my entire novel before November.

On the NaNoWriMo website I am known as Pieplate. Please come check out the novel that I will be writing. It can be found here. I will update the link if I make any changes to the title or synopsis.

Please keep in mind that the title and description are not final as of yet and may change as I am outlining or even while I am writing the first draft. This is a topic that I have been wanting to write a story based on for a while now. It started off as a short story where a young girl is talking to what appears to be a stranger in her room about events that have been going on. I may still write this story since my novel has moved far away from that concept. Now it is about a teenage girl who discovers things about both herself and others as she is going through high school. The events in this novel are loosely based off of things that I myself have witnessed, true stories told to me by others, and things that I have read on the internet. It will be difficult to write a novel that deals with such heavy topics.

I am trying to use the snowflake method to outline my novel. It is working for me mostly, but so far I’ve had to slightly alter the steps so that I can get my ideas out onto paper. I want to finish outlining by the end of next week, but based on how I’m going, and the fact that I have tons of characters I need to develop, I might not end up finishing the outline until Halloween. I am also aiming for a novel that is at least 100,000 words long, though I may not be able to get there if school gets to hectic. Because of this larger wordcount goal I need to make sure that there is enough content for this amount. Since last years novel barely made it past 50,000, this may prove to be difficult.

I will be posting tiny updates here on my blog to keep you guys posted. I will also try to post more things here in general. There will be more to come.

4 thoughts on “I am Participating in NaNoWriMo 2015

  1. I won last year too! Yay us! 🙂 I didn’t bother revising my novel either because it was such a mess. I mainly participated just to push myself to write more than I usually did. And even if it wasn’t a readable novel, it felt pretty good to have written 50,000 words at the end of a month. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It does make you feel so accomplished. After NanoWriMo, you just feel like a REAL writer. 🙂
        Oh, and I added you to my buddy list…I’m invisibleworld. I hope you don’t mind.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

