Posted in 2015, Miscellaneous topic, Ruminated Scrawling

About Choices – A First Post

So this is my blog. It’s not new, only brought over from Blogger. I have been told that WordPress is a better platform for blogs and I wanted to try it out. So far I am happy with what I have been presented. There are many things that I feel I can write about here such as many of the topics that I am interested in. I have not set a specific niche for this blog for the sole reason that there is too much that I can write about.
That is how it was when I was deciding on what to write about in my first post at this address. I spent a few weeks trying to figure it out to no avail. In the end I decided to just write and hope for the best which is what I am doing now. There are many other things that I could be writing now, different blog posts, poems, and stories, but I have to start somewhere, so here I am now.

There are a few things that I am trying to do this summer. I have to pack to University in the fall. I will be studying archaeology, a topic that has interested me for most of my life. I have a canvas that needs painting and I don’t yet know what image to put on it. I am writing several stories, one of them being a novel, but the plots and characters change so often that I can barely keep up with what is supposed to happen and how the characters are supposed to act. I guess the topic of this blog post is choosing, only took me three paragraphs to choose.

Sometimes choosing is one of the hardest things that can be done. You can have a minor choice between two types of pop and you will always choose the same one; that is the one that you like more. These choices are so minor that most people don’t even realize they are making them. You choose which route you are going to take, whether or not to wave to a certain person as they walk down the street, whether something needs to be done or not. Sometimes these choices are made easier because you are swayed in one direction by anxiety or the decision is made for you because something has happened such as a store running out of your favourite type of pop.

However there are those choices that take so long to make, that take up your entire mind as you try to weigh the consequences of each side, that they are difficult and can be very stressful. When these choices come up sometimes the chance comes so fast that you miss it or you take too much time thinking about what choice to make that you end up running out of time to make it. When there is enough time to make them even with all the thinking you have to decide which choice would have the most benefit to you and the people around you before you can make it or else there will be consequences in the future.

If it is raining you can choose whether to wear a raincoat or bring an umbrella. A raincoat is good because you don’t have to hold anything in your hand and you don’t risk losing or breaking your protection in a strong wind. If you bring the umbrella you have slightly less preparation to do before you go out. It isn’t until you reach your destination when it becomes clear that you made a good or poor choice. A raincoat stays on you as you walk around inside unless there is a coatroom in which case it will make all the other coats smell like mildew. An umbrella stays at you side, folded up. If you leave an umbrella in a coatroom it can stay at the bottom where it won’t make anything else but fellow umbrellas wet. I guess this is the end of my first blog post at this address. I made a choice to end it here or else it will get longer and longer until no one would read it. I am saving everyone from reading something that is so long that it isn’t worth reading. If you come across this post please tell me what you think and if there are any topics that you would be interested in me covering. I will cover any topic as long as it doesn’t make me uncomfortable. I look forward to make more choices.

Leave a Reply

